What if.

What if all the words I have said, will be all the words I will ever say?

But instead of saying them in a certain order they become a jumbled mess. I have thoughts so often that consume me, but I don’t want to say them out loud. I don’t want to scream from the rooftops the truth about the way things have been for me – because I have been told that it selfish. By speaking my mind about certain things I am only thinking about myself.

So I refrain. And I don’t write anymore because my writing is fueled by what’s going on inside of me. And sometimes I think that people hate my guts when they don’t. And sometimes maybe people do hate me. And sometimes I have dark thoughts because I think that I will always feel this way. But how can I be able to tell the truth if it will hurt people in the end.

It is so cryptic. My life is consumed with never feeling like I am good enough. My life is devoted to serving others because it makes me feel happy, because humans deserve love – but it started because I wanted to prove that I am not a bad person. I am not a bad mom. I am not a bad daughter. I am not a bad sister. I am not a bad employee. I am not a bad friend.

But still to this day I am reminded that I failed as a mom. Because I didn’t fight harder. But how do you fight without resources, with nobody in your corner, with no money? I was sick. I was consumed with the suicide of my big brother. I was trying to better our life by going to university. I was trying to live off the basic student loan amount. I was trying to be better but I was living in poverty.

I thought I had no rights as a human being because I was a drug user. I couldn’t stop. I couldn’t stop. I couldn’t stop. I didn’t have the resources to stop.

But nobody tells the truth about what the situation really was like. Could I have made it if he wasn’t in the picture for that first while? I don’t know, but I wouldn’t have had access to the drugs. Everyday I look back and I am hurting so deeply. I am upset. I am angry. I feel so much resentment that it is making me sick. I worry that when I die, I will still be sick with this.

So I continue to fight for others. For equality. For love. For human connection. Because inside I somehow feel like I am still living in my past and still trying to prove I am not a bad person.

I am not a bad person.

1 thought on “What if.”

  1. Your honesty is and always will be a very real help to others. Just remember to always be there for yourself first. We want your voice to keep coming! You’ve done so well in overcoming your addictions and mental health issues. A big task. Well done Lesandra! ❤️

    Like

Leave a comment