The right thing.

My life and my recovery is nothing short of a miracle. I am sitting here at work reading my psychology textbook in between phone calls and I keep getting lost in my head. It feels like I am daydreaming about the person I have become. The leaps and bounds that I have taken in the last 32+ months.

This feels like a dream as I read through my textbook and retain information. My whole life I was always afraid of forgetting everything because I had poisoned myself so much that I didn’t expect to be able to remember. I started my diary that is now my book because I didn’t want to forget. I am constantly putting things into my schedule like when I should wash my makeup brushes and check my credit report – which started because I thought I would just forget. But it turns out that my memory is great, and that having things in my schedule actually just makes me feel more accomplished and in semi-control of my life.

I can’t believe my brain even works after all the damage I caused. I often feel so broken that I am not sure I will ever feel whole – but then there is moments like this where I have to remember what things were actually like before this stage of my life. 

I was blessed to be given not only a second chance at life, but to be given it with a mostly clear mind. I know what I have to do to stay on the right path, and that path is filled with all the good and right things in this world. 

Do the right thing. Always do the right thing and life seems to unfold so perfect and beautiful.

Leave a comment